Congratulations to Alen Pazin who is the winner of the Oldham Memorial Cup for Season 2023/24, with a comfortable 30 second buffer over last seasons’ winner, Josh Engelbrecht. Third was John Henderson (on the beach announcement had Callum Griffiths in second and Josh Engelbrecht in third, apologies for overlooking Callum having only completed two qualifying swims.

Oldham Memorial Cup 202324

Starting at North Cottesloe we again utilised NCSLSCs buoys for the first turning buoy, despite the fact that they were using them for iron racing. Apologies to those off scratch who had to contend with some shore bound skis. Word on the beach was that it was stinger city at North Cottesloe, but luckily it didn’t appear to be too bad. Personally I only encountered 1 stinger (and also swam over a sting ray). Some chop/swell from the north west that made for a slightly harder swim. Thanks to Lisa Engelbrecht for acting as timekeeper and to Fiona McLarty and Hannah Engelbrecht on boards as water safety. A solid field of 18 contested the Oldham Memorial Cup. First home was Sam Bewsher in his first Points Races swim for the season.  Fastest was regular fastest swimmer, Callum Griffiths.

Pazin Cup

A week ago was the Cottesloe Classic Mile with Harry taking the Pazin Cup. Bragging rights now revert to Alen.

Cottesloe Classic Mile
Event             No   Name              Gender      Category Status Time
1.6km Swim 199 Harry PAZIN Male 12-17 Finished 00:25:47.7
1.6km Swim 198 Alen PAZIN Male 50-54 Finished 00:26:14.7
1.6km Swim 440 Maggie PAZIN Female 12-17 Finished 00:30:52.2

Alen with the Oldham Memorial Cup and Trophy Winner’s Towel

Oldham Memorial Cup Strava tracks