Congratulations to Josh Engelbrecht who is the winner of the Oldham Memorial Cup for Season 2022/23.

Oldham Memorial Cup 202223

Calm conditions of the Oldham Memorial Cup. Competitors walked to North Cottesloe where we utilised NCSLSCs buoys for the first turning buoy. Slight assistance for the swim back to Swanny to the second turning buoy at SNSLSC tower. Thanks to Lauren Brayford for acting as timekeeper, Robbie for helping with results, Karen and Tim on boards as water safety and Ando and Dom in the IRB as water safety. A host of unhandicapped swimmers joined the field with Christian off scratch and first home. Rhodri, Annie, Ray and Naomi formed the next pack, followed by the Contenders pack of Claire, Josh, Kate, Jo, Brie and Marnie, with Briggy last to start and last to finish. Claire led for most of the swim before Josh took the lead in the swim from the last buoy to shore. Fastest was Rhodri, seconds faster than Annie and Josh. For the history buffs, Josh’s great grandfather Maurice Goff won the inaugural Kirby Cup, which was the forerunner to the Oldham Memorial Cup. Josh was also pleased to note that his grandfather Peter Goff had placed second 3 times (equal most second places) and the third 5 times (the most third places). Josh’s aunt Marina Goff has also won the Oldham Memorial Cup.

Josh after the Oldham Memorial Cup.

Josh with his Trophy Winners Towel (following the Oldham Memorial Cup 2024)