It is with sadness that the Club informs you that Syd Rowe passed away on the morning of 6th May.

Swanbourne Nedlands SLSC Vale Syd Rowe

Syd joined the Club on 7th December 1945, gaining his Qualifying Certificate (the equivalent of the Surf Rescue Certificate), Surf Life Saving Association of Australia (SLSAA) No. 1158, on 17th March 1946, aged 16 years.  Syd gained his Bronze Medallion, SLSAA No. 24076 on 7th December 1946 with the Swanbourne Nedlands SLSC.

Syd’s involvement was in education, administration and competition. He gained his Instructors Certificate SLSAA No. 3945 on 11th December 1950 (equivalent of Trainer Officers Certificate) aged 20 years 9 months followed by his Examiners Certificate WA No. 1 on 3rd July 1952 (equivalent of Assessors) aged 22 years 4 months. Syd was Chief Instructor at the Club in the 1953/54 and 1954/55 seasons. Syd held the positons of Hon. Secretary and Registrar in the 1949/50, 1951/52, 1952/53 and 1953/54. He was Proxy Delegate to SLSWA in 1953/54 and Committee Man in 1956/57.

The sand was Syd’s strength with Club Championships in Beach Sprint in 1945/46 as a Sub Junior, 1947/48 as a Junior and the 1951/52 Open Beach Sprint Club Champion. In Points Races he won the Beach Sprint in 1945/46 as a Sub Junior and 1952/53 in Open. At the 1950/51 Club Championships he was Club Champion Lifesaver. Syd won the Wegner Trophy in 1945/46 and the Caris Cup Club Marathon in 1946/47 shared with Jim Seabrook. As Patrol Captain in 1952/53 his patrol team won the Allen Shield for Patrol Efficiency (Patrol of the Year): Syd Rowe (Capt), Clarrie Bowyer (Vice Capt), Barry Wegner, Wally Wegner, Ray Nicholson, and Barry Rowe (Syd’s brother).

Syd attended the 1951 Australian Jubilee Surf Championships at Scarborough, WA participating in the Beach Sprint, Beach Relay and March Past. Along with Gerry Atherden, Don Ogier, and Reg Trigg, Syd was the reel team for  Peter Atherden who was the State Champion in the 1950/51 Junior Belt Race. Syd had a great impact on several Club members in the early and mid-fifties with Club as he was instrumental in building up a well regimented and highly competitive Junior Rescue and Resuscitation (R & R) team.

Outside of surf lifesaving Syd was a good footballer. He played in the Western Australian National Football League (today known as the West Australian Football League or WAFL) for the Claremont Tigers with 2 league games (for 1 goal and 3 points) in the 1951 season.

Syd married Coralie Simmons who was an active Member of the Ladies Surf Club. The Bill Wales Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Achievement in Surf Boat was donated by the Coralie and Syd Rowe in honour of Bill Wales. First awarded at the Annual Dinner on Saturday 9th May 1998 in the Club Hall, it is a scale model of a surf boat.

Bill Wales Memorial Trophy

Outstanding Surf Boating Achievement

Presented by Coralie and Syd Rowe 1998

At the 50th Anniversary Dinner held on 13th November 1982, Syd was one of a number of Club Members awarded a Long Service Award badges, for prior service at the Club. Most recently Syd re-joined the Club in 2010/11 and was a Swanny Veterans Member since that time.

March Past Team – Australian Jubilee Surf Championships, Scarborough 1951.

Back: Reg Trigg, Don. Ogier, Bill Wales, Syd Rowe, Brian Vince, Campbell Catto.

Front: Bernie Kelly, Laurie Hopewell, Fred Thorne, J. Martin, Colin Weir, Jim Seabrook.

(Syd is standing, back row, third from right hand side)

Peter Atherden, State Junior Surf Belt Race Champion, Runner-up, Australian Junior Belt Race 1951.

Reel Team. Gerry Atherden, Don Ogier, Syd Rowe and Reg Trigg. (Syd is standing, right hand side)

Photo of the 1951 Claremont League Team.

Back Row: J. Davies, S. Rowe, B. Lowe, P. Jago, H. Williams, N.Lee, D. Idle, J. Stewart, G. Woodhouse, Centre Row: T. Lanyon (Trainer), P. Kyle, L. Loukes, E. Bowyer, D. Chegwidden (Trainer), D. Soutar, J. Yates, P. Lushey, E. McCaig (Head Trainer), Front Row: O. Santich, G. Moloney (Coach), G. Maffina (Capt.), P. Munro, M. Bridgewood (V.C), G. McEwan (Sec.), N. Lummis. Absent: J. Munro, H. Price, R. Briggs, G. Pearce, J. O’Connell, E. Slayford, R. Hinchcliffe, K. Caporn, K. Crompton, G. Baker, F. Wray.

(Syd is standing back row, second from left). This photo was supplied by Peter and Arthur Crisp.